Jackson, Mississippi Criminal Defense Lawyer Discusses The Requirements To Get A Concealed Weapon Permit In Mississippi

Mississippi Criminal Defense Attorney Curt Crowley

As I’ve stated before, my advice to anyone who regularly carries a firearm is to get a concealed-carry permit.  Mississippi law makes it quite easy to obtain a permit.  The basic requirements are as follows:

1.  Must be at least 21 years-old;

2.  Must be a Mississippi resident for at least 12 months before filing the application;

3.  Must have no physical impairments that would prevent you from safely handling a firearm;

4.  Must have no chronic or habitual drug or alcohol use;

5.  Must not have been convicted of a felony, or otherwise prohibited from possessing a firearm;

6.  Must not be mentally incompetent; and

7.  Must not be a fugitive.

These are the basic requirements to obtain your Mississippi concealed-carry permit (I omitted a few inconsequential requirements).  For additional information, you can contact the Mississippi Highway Patrol Firearm Permits Unit at 601.987.1586. 

If you have questions about firearm laws, please contact me.

Mississippi Criminal Defense Attorney Curt Crowley

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s