Many people are unaware of the potential penalties for a DUI in Mississippi. Some people decide to go to Court without a lawyer and just plead guilty, expecting to pay a fine and go home. Unfortunately, they find out, the “hard way,” that the penalties are much more severe than just paying a fine.
The penalties for DUI are as follows:
DUI–First Offense: $250.00 (minimum) to $1,000.00 (maximum) fine;
Up to 48 hours in jail;
Attendance at Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program and Victims Impact Panel;
Suspension of Driver’s License for at least 90 days.
DUI–Second Offense: $600.00 (minimum) to $1,500.00 (maximum) fine;
5 days (minimum) to 1 year (maximum) in jail (5 days in jail is mandatory and cannot be suspended);
10 days (minimum) to 1 year (maximum) of community service (10 days is mandatory and cannot be suspended);
Suspension of Driver’s License for at least 2 years;
Vehicle impoundment/immobilization/interlock during period of license suspension (mandatory).
DUI–Third Offense: Felony
$2,000.00 (minimum) to $5,000.00 (maximum) fine;
1 year (minimum) to 5 years (maximum) in state prison (1 year in prison is mandatory and cannot be suspended);
Seizure of motor vehicle;
Suspension of Driver’s License for at least 5 years.
Even for a first offense, the penalties for DUI are fairly severe. For repeat offenses, the penalties get much worse. With so much at stake, pleading guilty to a DUI is the worst thing you can do. If you’ve been charged with DUI, you should contact an experienced DUI and criminal defense attorney immediately.